If you are here, you may be wondering how to get an SR-22 form. Or maybe you are trying to find out if you even need SR-22 insurance. Either way, we are here to help!
If you want auto insurance for an SR-22 fast, call us at our Las Vegas line: (702) 850-7711 or our Memphis line: (901) 306-8100, and we will be happy to help!
If you want to learn more about vehicle insurance and SR-22s, we have put together an overview that will hopefully answer your questions.
Getting Started. What Exactly Is SR-22 Insurance?
“SR-22 insurance,” as it is called, is a form of insurance endorsement certifying that a person meets the minimum standard liability insurance coverage required by their state of residence.
An SR-22 is used when someone has been convicted of moving violations that are serious enough to make them a “high-risk” driver.
For example, if someone is caught driving under the influence and loses their driver’s license, they will need an SR-22 before getting their license reinstated in Tennessee and Nevada.
Please note that SR-22s are not vehicle insurance.
We know this is slightly confusing, but the term “SR-22 insurance” is actually a misnomer.
We will continue using the term here because it is easy to use, but in reality, an SR-22 is an insurance endorsement.
An SR-22 is also sometimes called a “CFR,” which stands for Certificate of Financial Responsibility. Meanwhile, the “SR” in SR-22 stands for Safety Responsibility.
How Does An SR-22 Work?
If the judge presiding over your case requires an SR-22, they will tell you during the court hearing. If the state requires you to get an SR-22, a letter will be sent from the state DMV.
After your DL suspension ends, you can ask your insurance agent to submit an SR-22 form on your behalf.
Please note that you cannot file an SR-22 by yourself.
Once the SR-22 has been filed by the insurance agency, you are good to start driving again!
Important info: If your policy ends, lapses, or you cancel it before the SR-22 expiration period, you have to file a new SR-22. Otherwise, you can lose your driver’s license again.
Why Do You Have To File An SR-22?
As mentioned above, the court or state requires an SR-22 form to be filed for drivers who are considered “high-risk” following an accident or major driving violation.
Typically, SR-22 forms are required for the following cases:
- Driving under the influence (DUI)
- Reckless driving
- Driving with expired insurance coverage
- Driving with a suspended license
The cost of an SR-22 varies depending on the insurance provider. Factors that impact overall price include driving violation history, the state, the driver’s age, and marital status.
In most cases, insurance companies that file SR-22s do so as an add-on to the individual’s current policy. With that said, generally speaking, filing fees usually cost anywhere from $15 to $50, while monthly payments for SR-22s proper are around $100 per month.
Once an SR-22 has been filed, the DMV will reissue your driver’s license, which typically costs around $125.
The total period for an SR-22 can last three years or more.
An SR-22’s Impact On Insurance Cost
Having an SR-22 on record will no doubt increase a person’s auto insurance premium.
But that is not all.
Since providing insurance coverage to high-risk drivers puts liability on the insurer, some companies also require that high-risk drivers pay their insurance premiums in advance.
Another thing to keep in mind is that an SR-22 on record will likely disqualify an individual from getting a “good driver’s discount.”
Possibly the biggest hurdle, though, is that not all insurance companies provide SR-22-related coverage because of the associated risks.
If you are having difficulty getting an SR–22 filed through your insurance company, we are happy to help! All N One Bonding & Insurance is here for you and can give you a quote today.
Why is SR-22 So Expensive?
SR-22s are expensive because people who need them are considered high-risk drivers with greater liability.
SR-22s In The State Of Nevada
Since rules surrounding SR-22s differ per state, it is wise to know what to expect in your area if you end up committing a major traffic violation.
We have provided some important information regarding Nevada-based SR-22s below.
SR-22 Certificate and Insurance Policy
Following a major traffic violation in Nevada, to get your driver’s license back, you are required to get both an SR-22 certificate and an SR-22 insurance policy.
How Much Auto Insurance Coverage Do I Need in Nevada For An SR-22?
In the state of Nevada, standard liability insurance is required for filing an SR-22. The coverage for standard liability insurance includes:
- $25,000 – for each person in an accident resulting in bodily injury or death.
- $50,000 – per accident resulting in bodily injury or death.
- $20,000 – per accident resulting in property damage.
How Long Is An SR-22 Required In Nevada?
An SR-22 form is required in the state of Nevada for as long as three years.
If your insurance policy ends, lapses, or you cancel it before the SR-22 expiration period, the three-year SR-22 period will reset after you get new vehicle insurance. The three-year period will then start counting down again.
Where To Get SR-22 Car Insurance in Las Vegas?
If you need car insurance with an SR-22 certificate in Las Vegas, Nevada, you can contact us at our Las Vegas line: (702) 850-7711, and we will be happy to help you right away.
State Specific SR-22 Requirements
Most states in the US require an SR-22 except for the following:
- New York
- New Mexico
- North Carolina
Important Note: In Florida and Virginia, instead of an SR-22, you have to get an FR-44, which requires more liability insurance than an SR-22, usually double.
SR-22 Insurance Requirements For Non-Vehicle Owners
If you are required to file an SR-22 and do not own a vehicle, you will still need to purchase auto insurance to get your driver’s license back after your DL suspension expires.
To do this, you may opt to purchase non-owners SR-22 insurance. Non-owned car insurance is less expensive because insurance providers assume that you have lower risks since you will not be driving as often.
If you want to reinstate your driver’s license because you need to drive rental cars or your friend’s car, this may be the best choice for you.
#1 – How Do I Get Rid Of An SR-22?
An SR-22 may be removed before the normal three-year period in Nevada, but the process requires you to hire a defense attorney.
Your defense attorney will have to contest the traffic violation and prove that you were not at fault, at which point the suspension of your driver’s license will be lifted, and you will not need an SR-22 anymore.
#2 – Canceling An SR-22
An SR-22 on your insurance policy is not automatically canceled even after the three-year period has been satisfied.
To cancel an SR-22, you will have to contact your insurance provider and show them the letter from the DMV stating that the three-year period has ended.
Your insurance provider will then file an SR-26 form to cancel the SR-22 form legally.
Once your SR-22 is canceled, you will no longer have to pay the fees associated with it. Moreover, you may ask for an insurance premium reassessment.
If your record stays clear, it is possible that your insurance cost may be reduced.
GETTING SR-22 INSURANCE NEAR ME
Major driving violations can put you in serious trouble physically and financially. The cost associated with driving violations and accidents accumulates over time. This is why you should work with a reliable insurance company that will help you through the process and make sure you have the best insurance rates available.
All N One Bonding & Insurance is a trusted insurance provider for family and personal vehicles, motorcycles, RVs, boats, and more. We have decades of experience helping people with their insurance needs.
Further Reading—My Driver’s License Was Suspended In Nevada. Can I Get A License In California?
To avoid paying SR-22 fees, some drivers try getting their driver’s licenses in states other than where their traffic violations occurred.
Unfortunately, this is not possible, as all states share information on traffic violations. If you move out of state, you will still have to finish the SR-22 period in the state where you committed the offense.