Did you know that failure to renew your motor vehicle liability insurance can cost you thousands of dollars in fines, lead to a possible suspension of your driver’s license, and require you to get SR-22 insurance in Las Vegas for three continuous years?
This is why it is essential to understand the rules surrounding vehicle insurance, especially if you just moved to Las Vegas or elsewhere in Nevada.
If you have questions regarding SR-22 insurance, our professional license managers are happy to help. We not only help file your SR-22 certificate but also create custom plans that are tailor-fit to your situation. Call us anytime at Las Vegas: (702) 850-7711 or Memphis: (901) 306-8100.
If you are here because you want to know how long you have to keep an SR-22 and what happens if you fail to do so, we have put together some information for you. Just keep reading to find out the answers.
Brief Notes About Filing An SR-22 In Nevada
Filing an SR-22, also known as a Certificate of Financial Responsibility, may be required as a result of a DUI case or failure to update your insurance in a timely manner.
In the state of Nevada, failure to update your motor vehicle liability insurance even for just one day will result in fines from $250 to $750.
If you go longer and do not update your vehicle insurance for a period of 91 days, you will then be required to file an SR-22, which raises the cost of your insurance premium substantially.
How Long Is SR-22 Required In Nevada?
SR-22s are required for three (3) consecutive years.
The three-year requirement starts on the day you reinstate your driver’s license.
If you fail to maintain your SR-22 anytime during the three-year requirement period, then your driver’s license will be suspended.
Your 3-year SR-22 period will also restart.
Note: If you are concerned about keeping track of when your SR-22 requirement ends, you do not need to worry. You will be notified by mail.
Notice To Verify Your SR-22 Insurance
When you receive a notice from the DMV to verify your SR-22 insurance coverage, do not ignore it. We strongly recommend that you respond immediately.
If you fail to confirm your insurance coverage within 15 days from the mailing date, your vehicle registration will be suspended.
Unfortunately, the state of Nevada does not give a grace period. However, there is an exception to the 15-day deadline if you face extenuating circumstances, such as sickness leading to hospitalization or a death in the family.
To prove your reason for missing the deadline was valid, you will need to prepare an affidavit for the DMV.
Side note: Out-of-state insurance is not accepted in Nevada, so make sure to work with a licensed Nevada insurance company.
If you need SR-22 documentation, our tenured Nevada insurance managers are happy to assist you. Contact All n One Bonding and Insurance Inc. at Las Vegas: (702) 850-7711 or Memphis: (901) 306-8100.